About Us

The Catholic Parish of Christchurch South

Prior to the Christchurch earthquakes of 2010/11 there were four parishes to the south of Christchurch central city: St Peter’s, Beckenham; Sacred Heart, Addington; Our Lady of the Assumption, Hoon Hay; Sts Peter & Paul, Halswell.

In 2015 St Peter’s and Sacred Heart parishes were amalgamated to become Sancta Maria Parish. In 2016 Our Lady of the Assumption and Sts Peter & Paul were amalgamated to become Our Lady, Queen of the Apostles Parish.

On Pentecost Sunday 2019 Bishop Paul Martin sm promulgated a Pastoral Letter to the Christchurch Diocese proposing a change to the structure of parishes, especially those in Christchurch city. Bishop Paul proposed a reduction in the number of parishes in the city from the existing twelve to five. The proposed new parishes would be formed by amalgamating parishes to create five new parishes that would come into existence on Pentecost Sunday 2020.

After a time of consultation Bishop Paul announced his final decision on the 1st Sunday of Advent 2019. For Christchurch South the decision meant the amalgamating of the existing Sancta Maria Parish (Addington, Beckenham, Carmelite Monastery) and Our Lady, Queen of the Apostles Parish (Hoon Hay, Halswell).

On Pentecost Sunday (31st May, 2020) Sancta Maria Parish and Our Lady, Queen of the Apostles parishes became the Catholic Parish of Christchurch South.